Car crashes in New Jersey are a part of everyday life. Most of these collisions are mere fender-benders that require cosmetic repair to the vehicles and potentially cause a few bruises are scrapes on the drivers. Insurance coverage may be unnecessary, as the costs involved may not even exceed the deductible you have to pay.
However, some crashes total vehicles, leaving them unable to drive. Collisions can also cause catastrophic injuries, including spinal cord injuries, traumatic brain injuries and even limb amputations. In other words, these crashes cause tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars of financial consequences for the people in the vehicles.
When another driver crashes into you or otherwise causes a collision, their insurance will, theoretically, be your source for compensation for the costs you incur. However, unfortunately, many people in New Jersey don’t have much coverage, leaving others vulnerable to financial losses. Carrying extra insurance can protect you from the underinsured, but that isn’t an option for those already hurt by someone without enough insurance.
New Jersey standard and basic policies offer minimal protection
People can purchase hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of coverage, but most people choose to buy the least amount of coverage that they can while still complying with state law. Quite a few people buy the New Jersey standard minimum policy, which offers $15,000 of medical coverage for one hurt person or $30,000 of medical liability coverage for two or more injured parties, as well as $5,000 of property damage coverage.
However, some people in New Jersey have The Basic Policy, which only provides $10,000 of personal injury protection and $5,000 of property damage coverage. In other words, you can very easily get into a crash with someone whose insurance policy barely covers the cost of the cosmetic repairs to your vehicle, let alone the need to replace the vehicle outright after the crash.
The same is true of medical costs, the single day in the hospital could exceed the minimum coverage held by many drivers in New Jersey. Seeking compensation after a car crash can be quite complicated because of both New Jersey laws and legal precedent in automobile personal injury cases.
The more expenses you incur after the crash, the more important it is to educate yourself about your rights and options.